I didn’t think it would happen any time soon, but I’ve switched away from Google for my primary search engine. I’m now using the A9 beta. Of course, A9 gives you results provided by Google for it’s web searches, so I’m still using Google indirectly. I really like the multi-column search results when you search more than one area (for example, the web plus images plus wikipedia). Now I just need a widescreen computer monitor so I can fit more columns on the screen.

I also switched from the Google toolbar in my webbrowsers to the A9 toolbar. The A9 toolbar has one nitpicky feature that I really appreciate. With the Google toolbar, if you click on the Google logo you get a drop down menu, and then you actually have to click again on the menu if you want to go to the Google web page. With the A9 toolbar, if you click on the A9 logo, you go immediately to the A9 web page. I really like that. Quick, simple, and no extra clicks. Sometimes it’s the little things that make a big difference.

I’ve been using A9 for about a week now, and I’m pretty pleased. Since I still get excellent web search results provided by Google, along with all of the other A9 features, I think of it as kind of a Google+.

