I know I’m late posting this, but back on June 24 Joy and I went to see “Double Indemnity” (1944). It was our first date since Charis arrived. Our parents split the job of watching Charis so we could go to dinner and a movie.

Anyway, I’ve been trying to see DI for a long time (it’s on the AFI Top 100 list but not currently available on DVD). I saw in a local magazine that the old restored theater downtown was going to play it as part of their Summer Movie Magic series. Two days later my TiVo wishlist for DI picked up that TCM going to play it the very next morning after the theater was going to show it. I couldn’t believe that after trying to see this movie for more than a year I had the chance to see it twice in less than 24 hours. I thought about just recording the TCM broadcast and not hassling with the trip downtown, but then I got paranoid that if I just watched the broadcast my electricity would go out or my satellite dish would be attacked by aliens or something and I’d miss it. So we saw it downtown and I had my TiVo catch it to burn a DVD, too.

This movie was worth waiting for. It was very entertaining and really quite funny. Some of the dialog is absolutely classic. Joy and I were quoting lines from the movie for several days afterward. Prior to this I’d only seen Fred MacMurray in old Disney movies that I watched when I was little. It was kind of cool to see him as something other than a goofy “good guy”.

“I wonder if I know what you mean.”
“I wonder if you wonder.”

