I’ve been listening to “Lonely Runs Both Ways” by Alison Krauss and Union Station pretty much non-stop for about two weeks now. I’ve listened to it every day on the way to and from work (about an hour round trip) and during the day I’ve listened to it while programming. I’ve even turned it on a few times at home in the evening. This is an excellent album. I just can’t get enough of it (obviously).

There have only been a few albums I’ve listened to non-stop like that. As best I can remember that would be “Songbird” by Eva Cassidy in 2002 (that’s when I got it but it came out in 1998), “A Legacy, A Liturgy, and a Ragamuffin Band” by Rich Mullins in 1993, and “Automatic For The People” by REM in 1992.

My favoite songs on LRBW are “Gravity”, “Restless”, “Goodbye Is All We Have”, “Crazy As Me”, and “A Living Prayer”. I have almost all of AKUS’s albums, and I really like them all, but this one is just so amazing that it’s on an entirely different level. I got LRBW when it first came out and listened to it a few times back then, but when I listened to it again about two weeks ago I guess something just clicked.

So now that I’ve listened to it 20+ times in two weeks, I’m going to try to make myself move on to something else, but I bet I’ll be back before too long. You can’t stay away from something this good.

