I’ve used several different shaving implements over the years, but I’ve never really been completely happy with any of them. I haven’t been satisfied with the consistency of the shave or the harsh effects on my skin. In the past I’ve used Norelco electric razors, a Braun electric razor, a Gillette Sensor, and currently a Gillette Mach 3. I appreciated the speed of using an electric while I was in college, but the shave performance was nothing like using a regular razor. I’ve been using the Mach 3 for almost two years now, and it does pretty well, but it’s still fairly harsh on my skin and the cost of the blade cartridges is very high.

In light of all that, I started looking around the net for alternatives. I quickly discovered a growing community of men returning to double-edged safety razors and even “cut throat” straight razors. I’m not really prepared to use a straight razor because of the maintenance it requires, but the thought of using a safety razor was very appealing. Once you learn to use it properly, a safety razor is supposed to be noticeably gentler on your skin than any of the modern cartridge razors. Many people also get a closer shave using a safety razor. In addition, the blades are very reasonably priced (10 blades for about $5 for some of the best on the market).

After reading up on the available options, I place my order tonight for a Merkur safety razor and badger shaving brush, and a small variety of shaving creams and soaps. My order should arrive next week and then I can see for myself what all the fuss is about. Oh, and I also ordered a styptic pencil, just in case. :-)

