Nausicaa.net recently announced that Turner Classic Movies will be playing nine Miyazaki movies in January 2006. TCM typically broadcasts in original aspect ratio with no commericals, so this is excellent news.

  • Thursday, January 5: Spirted Away and Princess Mononoke
  • Thursday, January 12: Nausicaa of the Valley of the Wind and Castle in the Sky
  • Thursday, January 19: My Neighbor Totoro, Porco Rosso, and Whisper of the Heart
  • Thursday, January 26: Only Yesterday and Pom Poko

I already have the DVDs for most of these (Spirited Away, Mononoke, Nausicaa, Castle, Porco, and Pom Poko), but the other three will be great to see. I will certainly buy the DVD for Totoro when it comes out next spring, but I believe the TCM broadcast will be before the DVD release, so I can see a little “preview” before the DVD comes out. As far as I am aware, Whisper of the Heart and Only Yesterday are not currently slated for DVD release in the US at all, so this might be my only chance to catch them. I can’t wait for January to get here!

