For years I used WS-FTP LE as my FTP client. I have a very old copy from 2000 that is free for personal use, but it’s also limited in a lot of ways. Since I’ve been posting a lot of pictures of Charis lately, I began to notice the shortcomings of WS-FTP LE much more than I used to. Eventually I got fed up and went to their website with the intention of purchasing a current version, but the $55 dollar price made me think twice. I knew there had to be something out there that would get the job done for a lot less, so I downloaded a wide variety of FTP clients and tried them all out. I was able to rule some of them out almost immediately because I just didn’t like how they worked. Others were okay, but not so great that I thought they really justified their price.

And then I tried FileZilla. The layout of all of the different areas on the screen took a little while to get used to, but once I got past that, I really liked it. FileZilla is very fast and the reconnent behavior when the connection is dropped is actually pretty decent (which is probably the thing that drove me crazy the most with WS-FTP LE). I’ve been using it for several weeks now and I haven’t had a single problem. I particularly love the batch processing for uploads, which is really handy for uploading pictures into my folder structure.

And the best thing of all? FileZilla is free. And open source. And it has an active community on SourceForge. What else could you want?

