This afternoon we installed baby gates throughout the house in an effort to contain our now mobile daughter. My dad came over and helped me with the installation, which was a blessing.

We ended up installing four gates, three of the same design and one different from the others. We have one at the top of the stairs, one between the living room and den, and another between the dining room and kitchen. The fourth gate (the different design) was supposed to be for the bottom of the stairs, but I’m not really happy with how it turned out, so I may take it back and replace it with a gate just like the other three. Switching that gate out to the other style will entail making four small holes in our banister post, which Joy is not too crazy about, so we’ll have to see how that goes.

I don’t think Charis is too fond of the gates, but they really are a necessity (especially at the top of the stairs) now that she is crawling around all over the place. She can pull up on the gates and then she will just stand there waiting for you to come get her. So she doesn’t like them, but it gives Joy and I a little less to worry about with her, which is great.

