Joy and I watched “The Passion Of Joan Of Arc” (1928) last night. When the movie ended, I just sat there motionless, staring at the black screen for several minutes. This is definitely one of the most powerful movies I have ever seen. In fact, there is a good chance that it is the most powerful movie I’ve ever seen, period, but I’d have to watch it a couple more times to sure.

The film is a stunning portrayal of remaining faithful to God in the face of great opposition and hardship. The resolve of Joan of Arc and her steadfast perseverance is inspirational. Renee Falconetti, who plays Joan of Arc, gives a breathtaking performance. The film is further enhanced by the transcendant “Voices of Light” music track included on the Criterion Collection DVD release.

I cannot begin to adequately describe the beauty of this film. It has my highest possible recommendation.

