I know I’ve had a string of more “technical” posts lately, but after this one I hope to get some normal stuff posted soon. Anyway, I discovered an amazing Firefox plugin recently, and it really helped me out today, so I wanted to share my experience. I had heard quite a bit about the “Web Developer” plugin for Firefox, and I downloaded and installed it a few days ago, but I hadn’t used it yet.

Then I got a comment on my latest CoppemineSC post from someone who was having a fairly odd formatting problem with the plugin. He and I traded emails for a little bit and, based on a screenshot of the problem that he sent me, I started to think that the root problem was probably related to the CSS for his blog theme. So I visited his site and used the Web Developer extension to view the CSS for his blog, which worked very nicely. I eventually discovered that he was floating left all of the images in his blog, and that was really the issue. I have every different element type that is inserted by CoppermineSC coded with unique class names to try to provide flexibility, and it turned out that, as far as I could tell, adding some specific CSS for one of those class names (to clear left so the text would move back to the far left) would solve the issue. But how to test it? It was the Web Developer extension to the rescue again. It has an awesome feature that lets you edit the CSS for site on the fly, and then apply the newly edited CSS to the page rendering. That meant that I could try out my fix and verify that it actually worked. I have to say, that feature is amazing. It was a breeze to use and it was exactly what I needed.

The Web Developer extension has all kinds of other options that I haven’t had the opportunity to experiment with yet, but judging by my experience with the CSS portion of the extension, this one is a must-have for developers.

