When I originally bought my current computer, the first thing I did was wipe the hard drive and rebuild the machine from scratch. When I did that, I divided the main hard drive into two NTFS partitions. At the time I thought that would be handy, and four years ago, who needed 30 gigabytes of space on a single drive anyway? Well, over time I came to regret that decision, as software products got bigger and bigger. I started running out of room on the system partition, and I really wanted to combine the two partitions back into a single larger system partition. But Windows provides no way to resize an NTFS system partition once Windows is installed. So I started looking around at other options.

There are, of course, commercial products that can do what I needed to do, but for one simple partition enlargement, there was no way I was going to pay 50 or 60 dollars for something like Partition Magic. Eventually I found an open source project called GParted, and a version of the project packaged up as an really easy to use Linux Live CD. I did several web searches and all I could fine were positive comments and success stories.

So with good backups of everything safely burned onto DVDs, I blew away the second partition on my drive and then used GParted to extend the system partition to fill the entire disk. After running GParted, the first thing I did was reboot into a full check disk, and the check came back perfectly with no errors whatsoever. So now I’m right where I want to be. I have a single partition that fills the entire disk, and as a result I have a nice cushion of free space on my system drive. Based on my experience, I would recommend GParted as a great tool if you need to make changes to NTFS partitions.

