We had a surprise baby shower this evening for a couple in our small group that is expecting their first child at the beginning of May. I think (or at least I hope!) we actually succeeded in surprising them, and we all had a lot of fun.

It brought back lots of memories for me of shortly before Charis was born. There is so much that is unknown while waiting for your first child to arrive. There are lots of new things to learn and new things you have to go out and buy. It’s a time of great excitement, and also a time (at least for me) of great trepidation wondering what in the world I had gotten myself into and whether or not I would be able to do all the things I would need to do. But God is so very gracious. In the midst of all the worry and planning and wondering and excitement, He brings a precious new life into the world. And somehow He gives a new mom and dad exactly what they need to make it through, one day at a time. And looking back at the past (almost) eleven months with Charis, they’ve been some pretty wonderful days.

