The first movie I watched last night was “The Phantom Of The Opera” (1929). Since I like the musical, it’s a movie I’ve wanted to see for a while. Matt and Ariana got it for me for Christmas, and I finally got the chance to watch it. Overall I liked it quite a bit. I think the story is told more effectively than in the musical and the plot in general just makes more sense. However, unlike the somewhat more romanticized depiction in the musical, the Phantom in the movie is quite creepy.

I think I must have some kind of thing for scenes with women wearing long veils, dresses with long trains, or long scarves or whatever. Similar to the scene I wrote about previously in “The Fall Of The House Of Usher” where Madeleine’s long white veil trails off in the wind, POTA has a scene where the Phantom takes Christine across the underground lake, and her scarf (I think it’s a scarf because she ends up leaving it behind on the boat, but whatever) trails out behind the boat, floating on top of the water. Simply gorgeous. I have no idea why I like that kind of imagery, but I definitely seem to.

