Last night Joy and I finished watching “The Singing Detective” (1986), a Dennis Potter miniseries from the BBC. This miniseries is lauded by many as the best thing ever put on television. It’s the only television production to make it onto the Time magazine “All-Time Top 100 Movies” list and rates a 9.2 out of 10 at the IMDb. And after watching all 6+ hours of it, I can’t possibly begin to understand why.

In my personal opinion (and certainly the appreciation of art is very subjective), this series just doesn’t do anything for me. I can understand that, compared to most of the stuff on television, this series is at least intelligent, thoughtful, and aims to deal with real life issues. However, the convoluted and constantly jumping story is really quite difficult to follow. Furthermore, some portions are quite crude and distasteful and, at least in my opinion, the story could have been told just as effectively and much less objectionably with even mild editing of certain sections. I think I have a reasonable grasp of the overall message the creator was trying to get across, but even then the whole thing just doesn’t do much for me. I can’t say I would recommend watching this*, but clearly there are many people out there who love this series. I’m just not one of them.

* Unless you are a potential bidder on the eBay auction where I am selling this DVD set, in which case I highly recommend that you enter the highest bid you can afford. :-)

