I finally decided it was time to buy a new computer. I was trying to wait for Vista to be released, but considering the frequent delays and the fact that maybe I really don’t want to be a guinea pig for the initial release of a new operating system, I decided to go ahead and get a new machine now. After some encouragement from Randy at work, I decided to build my own machine from the ground up this time instead of just buying one from Dell. I think my last three computers all came from Dell, but I used to tinker around with building them in college.

Anyway, I placed my order for all of the parts last week, and almost everything arrived today. Well, all of the major parts, anyway, except for the motherboard and RAM. I couldn’t really get too much done without the motherboard, but I did manage to install the hard drives, DVD drive, an extra case fan, and the power supply. Hopefully the motherboard will arrive on schedule tomorrow.

