After using Office 2000 for many, many years, I finally decided to move up to Office 2007. I used Office 2000 for so long largely because of the cost of upgrading, but with Office 2007 Microsoft is now offering the new Home and Student edition that can be used for non-commerercial purposes. It includes Word, Excel, Powerpoint and OneNote for $149, which is quite a good price compared to the regular versions (it would cost $329 to upgrade my copy of Office 2000 Professional to the 2007 version). Plus the Home and Student edition can be installed on up to 3 machines. The only thing I will really be missing from Office 2000 Professional is Access. I have a few Access databases that I’ve used as part of programming projects, but considering the cost savings, I plan to convert those to SQL Server Express or MySQL so that I don’t need Access at all.

