A few weeks ago Joy and I had the chance to see Wynton Marsalis and the Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra here in town. I know Marsalis can be a bit contoversial because of his opinions and agenda, but all that aside, the show was great. I always enjoy the chance to see excellent musicians. There’s something about the mastery they display that’s really engaging. After an eclectic first half, the second half of the concert was dominated by a series of pieces from Ted Nash’s “Portrait in Seven Shades” series, including Monet, Dali, Matisse, and Picasso. Their encore was a seriously swinging number that was perhaps the highlight of the concert for me. Marsalis’s casual and humerous commentary between pieces was a surprise, as I don’t think I’ve ever heard him speak before. He seems like he would be a fascinating person to sit down with and just chat for a few hours.

