In keeping a bit with the theme from my post yesterday, for one of my New Year’s resolutions I dropped all of the technology related blogs from my feed reader. For maybe the last fifteen years or so I’ve always been up to date about the latest new technology and gadgets. I could possibly make the argument that it’s been nice to be able to help people when they have questions about stuff, but I also know for a fact that keeping up to date on all of the latest gadgets and doodads has made me want to buy them. It’s made it easy to be unsatisfied with what I have and always wanting the newest thing instead. So I decided to try to just drop all of that information off my radar screen. We’re only a couple days into the new year and I already feel a little lost considering I “missed” Mac World earlier this week and I’ll “miss” CES at the end of this week. I know that sounds silly, but that’s how my mind thinks about it. I guess it’s kind of like an addiction of sorts. I’ve been addicted to too much information about too much stuff that in reality doesn’t really mean anything to me and that I don’t even remotely need. I’m hoping that not reading about all of the new things coming out will help me learn to be more content.

